Don’t Let Monday Beat You

Today, I had a blog post completed and ready to go. I clicked “Publish” and the next thing I know, I only have the first two paragraphs. Technology is great…when it works.

“I am ticked,” I texted my wife. It doesn’t feel good when this happens. However, it still happens.

It seems that anything worth doing in life is met with some kind of resistance. Some of it is explainable through psychology and science. However, sometimes stuff just happens that doesn’t make any sense. Maybe the post disappearing was a case of user error. However, I don’t really know what I did besides tap “Publish”.

Its moments like these that I sometimes just want to throw my hands up and give up. Especially on a Monday. After spending energy and brain power to write and edit, and then make it look somewhat pretty – it just disappears.

pexels-photo-273011

I would label this type of event a typical “Monday” event. It may be mindset or expectation, but it just seems that these types of events tend to happen more on Mondays than any other day of the week. It is like there is some force out there saying, “Guess what, its Monday and this week is going to suck. So you better just get ready for it.”

I think there is a way to fight back, though. Jon Acuff says to, “Punch Monday in the face.” In most cases, he is talking about developing routines to set yourself up for success – like waking up at 5:00 in the morning. I’m not at 5:00, yet. I do have one routine, though, and that is to write a gratitude list every morning. I didn’t do it today because I let what was ahead take precedence.

Gratefulness can set the pace for the day. That’s a truth that I all too often forget. I think it also helps to be somewhat gratefully stubborn. Its important for us to not let these little mishaps derail us.

Its super hard, and it takes a lot of energy to keep going when things seem dead set against you. Right now, my brain isn’t working as fast as it was earlier today. The cursor is seeing more blinks on my screen before the next word gets typed. That’s okay.

The process of fighting back Monday incidents is just that – a fight. Sometimes to write, you just have to sit down in front of computer and start. When you want to get in shape, sometimes you have to force yourself to go to the gym. I don’t want to let Monday win this week. I want this to be a good week. I have that choice. You do, too.

Leave a Reply

