More Changes

The name of this blog has once again changed. It changed mainly because I committed a blogger’s sin – my website address had nothing to do with the title or content of this blog. Though a lot of the content will still be similar, the disjointedness had to stop.

It shows that when I started this blogging thing, I didn’t really know what I was doing. I chose an address that was available, and I just wrote whatever I wanted. This blog started out as “Christian and Nerd” because that is what I am. I am a Christ follower that likes tech, movies, music, and yes…video games. I wanted to write to encourage those like me that it is OK to love Jesus and be nerdy. As a matter of fact, I believe that God smiles over some of our quirky passions. He created us and knows us.

Then, I rebranded the blog into “Becoming.” I wanted to write about things that had purpose and meaning. I found that posts about grace, hope, purpose, and forgiveness were much more important than posts about the next Android upgrade or what I thought about Captain America.

Neither of these blogs were directly connected with the website address – mattdeffner.wordpress.com. Deffman was a nickname given to me in High School by my Jazz Band director. My last name is Deffner, and Deffman was a cool sounding nickname to me so I didn’t take any issue with being called that, even though I am half deaf in my right ear. When I was searching for an address for this blog, deffman was available. So, I took it. No planning or thought was put behind it.

In hindsight, I see that this was a mistake. You see, as a writer, you want people to actually read what you write. If you can’t clearly communicate, not only will you frustrate the readers that stick with you, but there is no way you will attract new readers. I learned this in an online course about writing a book – the title should clearly communicate what the book is about. It makes since, and I think it carries over to blogs too.

So, what is this blog now? In some respects, it’s going to be what it’s always been – my writing. What will I write about? Faith, life, and culture. Those things impact one another. Our faith should inspire how we live. How we live can influence our culture. As with all created things, too, there are some really good things that are a part of our culture and lives. There are also some really broken things. I’m going to write about the good, the broken, and the redeemed.

Thanks for sticking with me this far. I hope that you stick around!

Leave a Reply

