House Promises

In 2 Samuel 7, God makes a promise to King David.  This is “spurred” on by David’s desire to want to build a house for the Lord; the ark.  God speaks to Nathan the prophet to relay a message to David.  The message begins with a question and ends with a promise.  David sees the ark’s place in a tent as a problem as he himself is living in a “house of cedar.”  Through the promise, God redefines the idea of “house”:

“‘The Lord declares to you that the Lord himself will establish a house for you: 12 When your days are over and you rest with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, your own flesh and blood, and I will establish his kingdom. 13 He is the one who will build a house for my Name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. 14 I will be his father, and he will be my son. When he does wrong, I will punish him with a rod wielded by men, with floggings inflicted by human hands.15 But my love will never be taken away from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you. 16 Your house and your kingdom will endure forever before me[b]; your throne will be established forever.’”

This portion has been known to directly relate and prophesy the coming of Solomon, the king with whom the temple of God (Yahweh) was built.  This temple was the temple that was made famous for its beauty and magnificence.

However, because of Solomon’s sin and the sin of Israel, this temple was ransacked and destroyed later.  So, it is clear that Solomon’s reign and kingdom did not last forever.

The promise of the everlasting kingdom was not related to Solomon, but to a man who would come much, much later.  It was related to Jesus who indeed came through the line of David through Joseph and Mary.  Jesus did not do wrong, but he took floggings for our wrongs.  God placed our iniquities on Jesus so that He might build a house for His people: “10 And I will provide a place for my people Israel and will plant them so that they can have a home of their own and no longer be disturbed. Wicked people will not oppress them anymore, as they did at the beginning 11 and have done ever since the time I appointed leaders[a] over my people Israel. I will also give you rest from all your enemies.”

Such an awesome promise, and so breathtaking that it was made so long ago.  I want to echo David’s response to the promise and the good news of the great new house:

“What more can David say to you? For you know your servant, Sovereign Lord. 21 For the sake of your word and according to your will, you have done this great thing and made it known to your servant.”

Leave a Reply

