Android vs iOS

I owned an iPhone 4 for a couple of years.  I was exceptionally happy with my user experience.  The phone I had before was a Blackberry Pearl, which was becoming exceptionally slow and my trackball would get dirty and stuck.  Not to mention there just wasn’t the memory capacity for my phone to double as a music player.  So, moving to the iPhone was a big step.  It provided an easy and intuitive user experience.

I have since jumped the iOS ship to Android devices.  The iPad mini was released, and after reading many reviews and doing some research, I found the product to be just too expensive.  All iPads are priced close to 100 dollars more than other tablets.  I just couldn’t justify the purchase.  So, I purchased the Nexus 7, a good 150 dollars cheaper than the iPad mini.

I have had limited experience with Android based operating systems, but right out of the box, I was amazed at the amount of customization and the power behind the Nexus 7.  It was smooth, sleek, and I could put whatever I wanted on my home screen.  If I didn’t want to show an app that came with the system that I would seldom use, I could just delete the shortcut.  Honestly, how many iPhone users wish that they could do that with the Newsstand?

I am also a widget person.  I like adding gadgets to my home screen that tell me what’s new.  When they released the notification drop down bar with the weather widget on iOS, I was happy.  The thing about that is, Android users have had that function long before it came to iOS.  Therein lies the problem with Apple, and why I have jumped the Apple ship.  Even though Apple products can provide a user-friendly and stable experience, they limit the users on the functionality of the product.  Android users have had turn by turn navigation for years.  Apple just released this feature with iPhone 5 and did not make it available for previous iPhone users.  In turn, it gives the consumer the short end of the stick, forcing them to upgrade their device with each major upgrade.  It may be a good business model because it makes money, but it is not something that I think treats the consumer well.

That being said, I have had apps crash on both my tablet and my new Galaxy S3.  I blame myself because I was trying to do too much at once, but still this was almost never an occurrence on my iPhone (until I jailbroke it).  The Play store also does not have some useful apps that are still currently iOS exclusive.  The exclusion of some apps can make it sting a little, but I would be surprised if there weren’t at the very least substitute apps currently in development.

In the end, it comes down to the user experience you are looking for.  If you are wanting a limited, but user friendly and stable experience, than iOS is for you.  However, if you want customization and an open system right out of the box than I would suggest Android.

Leave a Reply

